2 years ago

It seems longer, but it’s been just under 2 years since I attended my first drawing and painting course, in Autumn 2010. It was an evening course for beginners run by the council, held at Portobello High (Edinburgh).

Fortunately it was the best introduction into the world of drawing and painting as the tutor was upbeat and very encouraging. It might have helped that it was his first ever try at teaching.

This was the very first drawing I did in class – before any instruction:

The first bit of guidance resulted in clearly better scale:

Over the following weeks, I got noticeably better at drawing:

I was also introduced to watercolour painting:

This isn’t the last painting I did on the course, but I think it is the most pleasant:

I like the composition, although it is quite flat. It will be interesting to try this scene again now to see how I’ve improved.

Leave a Reply

