Drawing fundamentals

A new term means a new evening class. After trying oil last term, and having done watercolours and charcoals previously, I decided to return to drawing. I hope to improve my grasp of drawing fundamentals as this will improve my ability in any medium.

The tutor is Fraser Haston, who works as a design consultant.

130121 1

In the first class last week, as a warm-up I did a quick sketch of one of the other students, while he drew me.

I was greatly helped by the portrait work I did in Michael Mulready’s class. I got straight into picking out the darkest areas (the upper corner of the eye on the left, the side of the node), and then gradually adding more layers of tone – building up the face and strengthening/shifting the areas already covered.

Then we spent some time drawing a couple of bottles. The challenge here was to be able to capture the highlights. I definitely need more work on this.

130121 2

Leave a Reply

