Oil week 3

There was no oil class this week. Last week we looked at example of works by various other artists, and also had a demonstration of making dark colours by mixing complementary colours, e.g. yellow into purple.

Continuing to work on my landscape, I darkened the dark areas, and lightened the light through mixing white into my palette. I added more detail to the various elements of the picture. I also enlarged the two rocks at the forefront of the picture to give the whole scene much better grounding:

131007

For comparison, this is how it looked at the start of the class:

130930 landscape

I had planned to work on 2 items during the class to allow for drying time, and had brought in some source pictures that I could choose from. Unfortunately I forgot to pack some spare sheets of canvas paper so I didn’t get a chance to start on it. I’m prepared for the next class now though!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

