Inspired by fashion

Hi there! Welcome to the Maison Bentley Style Blog Party! For my regular readers, please excuse this interruption – I’m currently partying with fellow followers of Maison Bentley Style.

Welcome to my blog about my painting hobby. My first encounter with the original Mason Bentley blog was when Anna/Kate liked a couple of my fashion-inspired posts.

My interest in fashion-related art started this summer. The City Art Centre in Edinburgh held an exhibition in association with Condé Nast showing a century’s worth of photography from the publishing company’s archives. Many different styles of photos from Vogue and Glamour were shown, taken by famous photographers such as David Bailey, Erwin Blumenfeld and Helmut Newton.

I attended 5 great workshops based on the exhibition, exploring aspects of representations of the fashion world. It was 2 of these posts that Anna/Kate liked:

Fashionable silhouettes
Elements of fashion – Still life

Since those workshops, I’ve taken a greater interest in a field that was previously totally foreign to me and have been reading a few fashion blogs to get more inspiration. I’ve found the fashion world to be very vibrant, full of passion, which from an artistic viewpoint is quite exciting.

Especially for the party, I’ve added a new “Inspired by fashion” menu item that shows all of my fashion-themed posts from the last few months. I hope you might take a little look and let me know if there’s anything that you like: Inspired by fashion. If you have a moment, my about page also showcases what I consider the best of my other drawings and paintings.

Unfortunately I’m not going to be able to spend as much time at this party as I would like, but I’m very much looking forward to visiting all of your blogs and getting to see what you’re doing and what you’re interested in. Please leave a comment to say hello!

PS If you could hear my accent over the party noise, you’d notice that although I’ve travelled down from Edinburgh, I’m not Scottish. I was raised in Suffolk, with Bury St Edmunds my hometown, and my roots connect me to the West Country and the Basque Country. Are there any fellow Suffolk folk here?

I hope to hear from you and make connections 🙂

19 comments

  1. Maison Bentley Style

    HELLLOOOO! Happy Blog Party?! Now..where’s the booze? Maybe a whiskey seeing as we’ve crossed the border? And surely that’s not bagpipes I can hear playing??!…I shall take my time and have a good look around! xxx

  2. KittNoir

    Afternoon! I have just come from the Maison party and about to take a stroll around your blog. Love Bury St Edmunds – what a beautiful place to grow up!

    • timhards

      Thanks for looking around my blog. I went back to Bury on Friday for the first time in about 15 years!! I was very pleased to see that the old centre hasn’t changed much, with just the nicely done new shopping area where the cattle market used to be. How do you know it?

  3. Lia in Brussels

    Two parties on a Sunday merit a cup of good coffee and a flick through some beautiful, creative, interesting pages, don’t you think? Fortunately I took the day off so I can have a proper look through yours!

    • timhards

      I wish I had been able to take the day off! Didn’t get much time to spend at the various parties yesterday, but I hope to catch up over the next few days – lots to see! It is nice to see you’ve been liking my posts. I look forward to reading more of your blog. Interesting posts!

  4. vintageattitude

    Fellow Suffolkite here! Was born in Sudbury Suffolk many moons ago. I remember when the Abbey Gardens in Bury St Eds had animals in cages!! Some nice work on your blog so will come back for more…..

    • timhards

      Yay! Nice to hear from someone from there! As I was telling Kitt above, I returned to Bury for the first time in years on Friday – and we drove through Sudbury! Since leaving to study in Edinburgh in 96, I have hardly been back to the region as my parents and sisters all moved away. It was wonderful to return to look around a bit. Great memories. Speaking of which, I’m not sure if you’ve just planted the idea in my head, but I think I might recall animals at Abbey Gardens. Were they near the front wall by the gate? I think would’ve only been around when I was a toddler, and so were probably removed in the very early 80s. Does that sound about right? I’m liking your blog by the way!

      • vintageattitude

        My memories go back to 60s! I recall them close to the entrance on the left as you went in….I also remember monkeys in there……no one else seems to back that but I am convinced!! I went back couple of years ago and found Bury had some great charity shops…..always a source of joy to me. Nice place still and very affluent area apparently….

  5. Pingback: Cheers Kate Bentley! | art fn
    • timhards

      Thank you so much! I don’t know how I missed your great blog! I thought I had gone through the guest list and visited everyone, but I must have just skipped past yours somehow. That has been rectified now. You’ve got a new follower! I’m looking forward to reading through all your past posts.

      • longandluxe

        Isn’t it lovely that we’ve not missed each other twice! Thank you so much for your kind compliment, I am looking forward to following each other very much, love!! It is such a treat when someone takes the time to read some past posts, you know? I’m just truly and humbly flattered. I am also keen to watch your projects and paintings progress. You have a beautiful way of opening up an artist’s mind!

Leave a Reply

