Spiral, two tone style

Spirals were at the heart of Thursday’s Drawing Room session. For my 2nd item, I drew this spiral using chalk on blue paper:

131114 spiral 2tone 1

I’ve recently been listening to The Specials and The Selecter (this concert in particular). My spiral was influenced by the black-and-white chequered pattern adopted by 2 tone bands, like in the 2 tone design shown here (creator unknown to me):

two tone

I like the music. I like the style.

As with the first item in the session, I added a second layer. As with the first, I prefer the base layer.

131114 spiral 2tone 2

Like with all of the Drawing Room sessions I go to, I left with new ideas of creating art. I saw how I can use spirals when producing abstract works. I’m pleased with the base spirals I made in both items. Both are quite strong.

 

Leave a Reply

