Sketches for 2014, number 4 — Northern rockhopper penguin

Location: Gough Island, South Atlantic
This Northern Rockhopper penguin I drew isn’t really from Gough Island, where most of the Northern Rockhoppers breed, but it was the nicest looking one I could find on the internet. By chance, this particular hopper lives in the same city as me: Edinburgh, Scotland. However, I thought Gough Island was more fitting.

Northern Rockhopper penguin

This post is part of a series of sketches for 2014 that I will be posting every 3rd day. I will draw people and things from around the world that I find beautiful or interesting. The series will end on 29th December 2014 with post number 121.

5 comments

  1. katdesigner

    Hi Tim, so nice to see in this post how is your drawing improving with now such an ease. Very quick one, but with very nice simple adequate amount of pencil strokes. x

    • Tim Hards Vicente

      Thank you Kat. It will be interesting to compare my drawings at the end of the year with these early ones, after I do another 117!! Good to see your own challenge is progressing as planned, and nice to see your sketches!

      • katdesigner

        Well I thought after not holding a pen for quite a good while and I mean god, good while I thought it wasn’t too bad last night. Then I looked at the pictures next to each other on the post and thought oh god, this isn’t looking exactly the same… but I am curious what it looks like once in bigger scale on the wall.

        It is interesting fact, I found you may want to draw, but if you have no inspiration, there is just a lot of boredom and energy is wasted.

Leave a Reply

