Sketches for 2014, number 5 — Sámi man

Location: Sápmi / Lapland
I’m not very happy with this sketch as it doesn’t capture the lovely detail in the traditional Sámi costume that can be seen in the original source photograph a little way down this page. It would be easier if this sketch were in colour, but it could still be a lot better than this in black-and-white. I may come back and try this drawing again some other day.

140115 saami man

This post is part of a series of sketches for 2014 that I will be posting every 3rd day. I will draw people and things from around the world that I find beautiful or interesting. The series will end on 29th December 2014 with post number 121.

17 comments

    • Tim Hards Vicente

      Thanks Dina. Interesting to see you spend some of your time living in Norfolk – I grew up in the neighbouring Suffolk. And then, you come from Norway — which I think shares many landscape similarities with my current home in Scotland! I haven’t been to Norway yet, but I watched Trollhunter last year, and could imagine many parts of the film being somewhere in Scotland – apart from the trolls!

      • Dina

        How interesting, Tim! Where about in Suffolk do you come from? I spent some time in Suffolk last year, had a sleepover in Lavenham. Last year we went as far as to Hadrian’s Wall, this – or more likely, next year, we plan to go to Scotland. I’m really looking forward to it, I have never been to Scotland before. The Shetlands, Orkneys and the Outer Hebrides are on my “must see” list. And of course Edinburg.
        Nie meeting you, Tim! Have a great day.
        Greetings from Cley next the Sea
        Dina

    • Tim Hards Vicente

      Thanks Alex. I’m enjoying the challenge! I thought it’d be easy to find things to draw, since I’m allowing myself pretty much free reign of subject… but it’s harder than I thought! I think I’m just getting into the flow of it still – putting lots of emphasis on finding the *best* thing to draw. It should get easier after I do a few more!

      I’ve just posted about my new fashion illustration project too! I’m super-excited about that 🙂

      I hope you are doing well. Best wishes!

      • Tim Hards Vicente

        You should set yourself a challenge! Something fun, that you always wanted to do but never got around to making the time for! That way you won’t find it turning into a chore to be posting. I think it is a great sign if it’s something that you’re impatient to start!!

    • Tim Hards Vicente

      I love to hear comments – thanks for leaving one! Each comment is worth a tonne of likes (if you could weigh either)! Glad to see your blog is still going strong. How on earth do you find all those great images??

  1. katdesigner

    Why don’t you try to do a sketch of just a detail of this traditional costume. I like the photographs on the page you mentioned. I know what you mean, when you are personally not happy with something, such a bugging thing. x

    • Tim Hards Vicente

      That’s a great idea Kat! I’ll do that next 🙂 By the way, I think your attitude to having your own projects might have helped motivate me for my new fashion illustration course that I’ve just posted about! I really enjoyed preparing the course agenda for myself last night, and am looking forward to getting started on it next week.

      • katdesigner

        This is very exciting Vinc, I might follow up on you on this! Obviously being a set and costume designer, my drawing are rather different to fashion drawings, but they are also on my list. I might have a look and perhaps revisit some of the projects I have done and wasn’t happy with or they had characters missing. It is one of those things just getting yourself into a habit. The sketches over the weekend only took 40 minutes each, Darwin today 1.5h of painting (still in progress), so really there is no excuse to not to do it. I am glad we are ON iT!x If you like some inspiration check out my page http://www.facebook.com/kat.portfolio In album Ubu Roi and Bluebard’s castle there are few examples of costume designs, and some posture drawings are in Drawings.

      • Tim Hards Vicente

        Vinc?! That’s like a shoe that doesn’t quite fit! 🙂 I only decided to properly use my full Spanish surname Hards Vicente in December, just before speaking with you for the first time. When not being an artist, I’m still just plain old Tim Hards so to have someone use a variation of Vicente is quite a novelty!!

        I’d be interested to see what you can do in fashion illustration. I saw your facebook pics (I fixed your link in case you were wondering). I’d be very happy to be able to do something a hundredth as good as those costumes!

Leave a Reply

