Fashion illustration course, for 1

Hi everyone! Normally at this time of year (since 2011), I’d be signing up to a new adult education art course: perhaps David Forster’s watercolour course, Michael Mulready’s pastels, or perhaps an oil course. However, this time I decided to do something a bit different.

Back in November, artist Julia Linn wrote about fashion illustration, including images she had found, and books about the topic. I was inspired by her post and even reblogged it here. This is now the time for me to follow up on this.

For the next 10 weeks, I will spend 2-3 hours every Wednesday evening teaching myself fashion illustration. Yesterday was week zero – a time to plan. I gathered some interesting books from Edinburgh’s Fine Art Library, and constructed a course for myself around them. These are the books I will use:

fashion illustration books

  • Fashion Illustration School: A Complete Handbook for Aspiring Designers and Illustrators, Carol A. Nunnelly
  • Advanced Fashion Drawing: Lifestyle Illustration, Bil Donovan
  • Fashion Drawing In Vogue, William Packer
  • Fashion Illustration By Fashion Designers, Laird Borrelli

The course content will be based around the first two books. I chose the last two books for inspiration.

I will start with the first half of Advanced Fashion Drawing. This will help me adapt my drawing skills to fashion imagery instead of the realism that I usually focus on. Then I will move to the latter parts of Fashion Illustration School, and practice drawing fashion garments. In week 9, I will hop back to the first book to apply a little more abstraction. And then to finish with, I will use the last week to use what I have learnt for a final image.

Skip past this bit to see images from the books I’ll be using for inspiration…

Here is the course agenda I created:

WEEK 1
Advanced Fashion Drawing, Chapter 1. Line
1.1 The Balancing Act
1.2 Straight Line
1.3 Curved Line
1.4 Combination of Straight and Curved Lines
1.5 Opposition of Line

WEEK 2
Advanced Fashion Drawing, Chapter 2. Elongating the Figure using Verticals, Horizontals, and Diagonals
2.1 Verticals
2.2 Horizontals
2.3 Diagonals

WEEK 3
Advanced Fashion Drawing, Chapter 3. Beginning a Vocabulary of Shapes
3.1 Drawing the Figure in Three Shapes
3.2 Drawing the Figure in Five Shapes
3.3 Mapping the Figure
3.4 Contrasting Shapes
3.5 One Large Shape

WEEK 4
Advanced Fashion Drawing, Chapter 3. Beginning a Vocabulary of Shapes
3.6 Black Shapes
3.7 Gray Shapes

WEEK 5 & 6
Fashion Illustration School, Chapter 4. Techniques
Technique 27 Illustration basics
Technique 28 Forms and garment types
For these 2 weeks, I will experiment with applying garments described in Chapter 5. Garment Types.

WEEK 7
Fashion Illustration School, Chapter 4. Techniques
Technique 29 Mapping

WEEK 8
Fashion Illustration School, Chapter 4. Techniques
Technique 30 Folds and draping
Technique 31 Simplifying folds

WEEK 9
Advanced Fashion Drawing, Chapter 3. Beginning a Vocabulary of Shapes
3.8 Negative Shapes
3.9 Dark and Light Values

WEEK 10
Free session to create an image based on what I have learnt over the course.

Images from Fashion Drawing In Vogue

I chose two books that contained lots of images that might inspire me while I’m following my course. Here are a few drawings that have been featured in Vogue over the years:

Jean Pagès

vogue - jean pagès

René Bouët-Willaumez

vogue - rené bouët-willaumez 1

vogue - rené bouët-willaumez 2

vogue - rené bouët-willaumez 3

Images from Fashion Illustration By Fashion Designers

These are some fashion illustrations done by fashion designers:

Antonio Berardi

designer - antonio berardi

Denis Simachev

designer - denis simachev

Gianfranco Ferré

designer - gianfranco ferré

Michael Vollbracht

designer - michael vollbracht

I am excited to be doing this – it should be fun and useful. Wish me luck!!

17 comments

  1. alexcellent2012

    Best of luck Tim! I think it’s so awesome that you’ve designed your own course – it looks very comprehensive. Your passion and talent will take you great places. I love the idea of being structured about it and committing to a time each week to do it. You could teach this course to others in future! Very inspiring.

  2. julialinn

    Im really glad that I could inspired you to try something new and different. Im looking forward to see how you develop your skills and I really like how you put up the course and I find the post really inspiring!

    Best wishes, Julia Linn

    • Tim Hards Vicente

      Many thanks for having a look! If it goes well, I’ve got a feeling I may extend this beyond 10 weeks – but I shouldn’t get carried away just yet!! I’m still finding my feet with painting and drawing. Since starting to paint 3 years ago, I initially found that I preferred landscapes over still life, portraiture and abstraction. But fashion is a late discovery, and I’m quite captivated by it! It is literally art applied directly to the person – and capturing it in 2D is just a variation of the real 3D version. So interesting. So much for me to explore still.

    • Tim Hards Vicente

      Thanks Kate! I was pleasantly pleased to see a whole shelf full of fashion illustration books in the library, and they weren’t reference books so I could take them out! Fortunately they had a mixture of teaching books and general ones, so I was amply provided for. The Fashion Illustration By Fashion Designers book is particularly interesting as it has quotes from the designers about how they work, along with a few examples from each. I’m sure I’ll be dropping off a few highlights from it during my weekly progress posts 🙂

  3. Pingback: Fashion illustration: line | art fn
  4. Sharon Quigley

    Fantastic Tim! The course looks really well structured and good fun. I admire the way you really get stuck into projects. Perhaps you should come and lead a Drawing Room session at some point? Looking forward to catching up on the 13th of February. sq

  5. Pingback: Fashion illustration: verticals, horizontals and diagonals | art fn
  6. Pingback: Fashion illustration: drawing the figure in three shapes | art fn
  7. Pingback: Fashion illustration, on hold | art fn

Leave a Reply

