Sketches for 2014, number 10 — Happy new year!

Location: Tang Dynasty China
It is now the morning of January 31st in China, and the start of a new year – the year of the horse (wood element). According to astrologer Susan Levitt:

The Wood Horse year is a time of fast victories, unexpected adventure, and surprising romance. It is an excellent year for travel, and the more far away and off the beaten path the better. Energy is high and production is rewarded. Decisive action, not procrastination, brings victory. But you have to act fast in a Horse year. If you are not 100% secure about a decision, then don’t do it. Events move so quickly in a Horse year that you don’t want to gallop off in the wrong direction.

So seize the opportunities, work at them, but be careful!

This is a sketch of a Tang Dynasty horse and female rider figurine, dating to late 7th – early 8th century, now owned by the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York.

140130 wood horse

This post is part of a series of sketches for 2014 that I will be posting every 3rd day. I will draw people and things from around the world that I find beautiful or interesting. The series will end on 29th December 2014 with post number 121.

11 comments

    • Tim Hards Vicente

      It’d be nice if I qualify for that, but I believe the jury’s still out on that one! (They’re actually still deliberating after I sent them back out to ensure they consider all of the aspects. Seriously, how could they have taken everything into account in the 5 seconds they spent discussing it? Well, I’m not letting them back in until they have the right answer.)

      @All: the mighty Crazy Bag Lady is referring to her own Happy New Year sketch-of-the-day post (she’s the one who inspired me to do my own regular sketch posts BTW). In her post, she coincidentally used the ***exact*** same quote as me! Spooky…. Take a look at her lovely drawings: http://bulanlifestyle.wordpress.com/2014/01/28/sketch-of-the-day-no-263-the-bulan-animal-farm-wishes-you-all-a-prosperous-happy-and-healthy-new-year/

      • TheCrazyBagLady

        I just made a new friend whilst hiking this afternoon and we were just discussing how there are no coincidences in life. I guess that is pretty spooky. Thank you for linking my post and I’m so happy I inspired you to do your regular sketch posts 🙂

      • Tim Hards Vicente

        Did I understand that correctly – you were discussing how there are no coincidences in life shortly *before* I drew your attention to the quote coincidence? Double coincidences must be multiplied by laws of probability! Are we parallel souls or something?!!! 🙂 I know you’re a vegetarian like me (since birth), an artist, what else? Born on the 13th March by any chance?!! 😀

  1. katdesigner

    Funny enough with Crazy Bag Lady we had very similar thing about the quote: You are never too old or too young to set another goal or to dream a new dream. I had it in my first and only ever chinese cookie and it is now taped to the screen of my computer.

    • Tim Hards Vicente

      Shocking! I left it over a month to respond to your comment!!! I like to reply to everything, otherwise I feel like I’m ignoring the person who took the time to write! Fortunately we know each other, so it’s not quite so bad 😀

Leave a Reply

