Sketch delays

At the start of the year, I challenged myself to post a sketch of something interesting or beautiful from around the world every 3 days. Unfortunately, including today’s, I have failed to deliver on the last 3 sketches. This was due to a surprise business trip to Berlin, and a sooner-than-expected start to our new extension. These are two reasons I’m very pleased to have as my excuses.

As Kat Tvrdikova recently reminded me, in this challenge it is more important to produce a sketch I am pleased with, than to post something to meet my arbitrary deadline. A self-imposed schedule is a good framework to have, but I will allow myself some freedom when circumstances make it hard to satisfy.

From now on, when I am “overdue”, I will include a list of missing sketches in my sketch posts. This will encourage me to produce them — to clear my sketch debt — but it will also allow me to knowingly delay my sketch when it would benefit from more time.

In the meantime, I am still trying to squeeze in small sketches when I can, just not of the world-theme type. I did this ultra quick fashion illustration themed sketch on the corner of a piece of paper on the bus home yesterday.

140211 quick man

It isn’t much at all, but I am pleased that I was able to do this from imagination, as I always used a source for my other fashion illustrations. This simple drawing looks much more stylish than I would have been able to achieve before starting to learn how to do fashion illustration.

Note that this is the first piece that I’ve scanned in, using my new all-in-one printer that I bought this weekend. Previously I used a camera to capture my images. The scanner will make my life a lot easier 🙂

4 comments

    • Tim Hards Vicente

      I’m pleased to hear you think so! Although I’ve been too busy to do the 3-day sketches, I have made sure that I will be able to do tomorrow’s fashion illustration class – and I’ll be using you as the model again this time 🙂 I’m looking forward to seeing what new techniques I will learn.

  1. katdesigner

    Hi Tim! I am glad, I am not the only one late! 😀 Fab news on the all in one scanner, I have a blog topic review of mine on the list I have been meaning to write for ages, but there is always something more important to write about. Keep going, love Kat xx

    • Tim Hards Vicente

      Thanks for the encouragement Kat. I am also late with my blog reading. Instead of looking back through my reader’s history, I think I’ll do a tour of each of the blogs I follow, seeing what they’ve been up to over the last 2 or 3 weeks – giving each some proper attention. That’s my streamlined thinking going on there. Best wishes!

Leave a Reply

