Sketches for 2014, number 8 (complete) — Rose Trellis Fabergé egg

Location: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
This is the completion of a sketch I posted 3 weeks ago. It is the Rose Trellis Fabergé egg made for Tsar Nicholas II in 1907. It is owned by the Walters Art Museum in Baltimore.

140215 fabergé egg

For comparison, this is how it looked in my earlier post:

140124

And this is what it really looks like:

Fabergé House_of_Fabergé_-_Rose_Trellis_Egg_-_Walters_44501

My sketch debt
I am currently 4 sketches overdue:
Sketch 12: Wednesday 5th February
Sketch 13: Saturday 8th February
Sketch 14: Tuesday 11th February
Sketch 15: Friday 14th February

This post is part of a series of sketches for 2014 that I will be posting every 3rd day. I will draw people and things from around the world that I find beautiful or interesting. The series will end on 29th December 2014 with post number 121.

5 comments

  1. katdesigner

    Very well done Tim! Obviously this is the kind of sketch, which takes little too longer, but you have done a great job. I had my first day off in like a week, so after catching up on sleep and making some sense of my room plus catching up with other blogs, I am hoping to catch up with my posts in the next three days. I think we deserve a pat on a shoulder we keep going for the last month and half so far! What do you say? 😀

    • Tim Hards Vicente

      Thanks Kat. I didn’t feel I could move on with the other sketches without finishing with this one first. Fortunately it didn’t take as long as it looks! You are ahead of me I think, but my extension being built is a very valid excuse 🙂 Work started yesterday: scaffolding up, foundations checked…. unfortunately there’s a problem with the foundations, but that’s how it goes… I CAN’T WAIT to being able to do some more sketching and catch up with you! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

