Sketches for 2014, number 14 — Swiss Guard

I dedicate this drawing to my friend, Milly.

Location: The Vatican
The Swiss Guard – as a collective, not just this solitary guy alone – is responsible for the safety of the Pope in Vatican City.

The current uniform that I drew, from the photo shown here, was designed by Commandant Jules Repond around 100 years ago. He drew inspiration from Raffaello’s frescoes, as described on the Vatican’s website.

Swiss Guard

The drawing benefited from the techniques I have been learning by studying fashion illustration. The proportions are more pleasant, elongated and accentuated ever-so-slightly, and the figure is a little more dynamic.

My sketch debt

I haven’t reduced my “sketches overdue” count – I still owe 4:
Sketch 15: Friday 14th February
Sketch 16: Monday 17th February
Sketch 17: Thursday 20th February
Sketch 18: Sunday 23rd February

At least the count isn’t increasing. I am on top of the situation 🙂

This post is part of a series of sketches for 2014 that I will be posting every 3rd day. I will draw people and things from around the world that I find beautiful or interesting. The series will end on 29th December 2014 with post number 121.

2 comments

  1. ELW Essence

    What a fabulous sketch Tim, I’m in Rome this week and will take a picture of the guards and send it to you if I go past the Vatican. The resemblance is stunning! A true artis! Milly

Leave a Reply

