Flattered!

Today I gained my 100th follower! I am really flattered to have so many people interested in my drawing and painting. Every like or comment left is a wonderful boost, and hugely appreciated. The discussions I’ve had with you have been immensely helpful in moving my art forward. I also appreciate those silent followers among you too – you help motivate me!

I would like to send each of you a kiss!

THANKS!

How I drew 100 kisses without counting them
When I created this image, I used the tools available to me to plot 100 x’s and have them automatically counted as I moved them around. For this, I used a PC with Microsoft Excel. You can do this too:

  1. Open a new Excel spreadsheet
  2. Reduce the width of all the columns to just fit the number 100 (you can alter the widths any time, just make them narrow)
  3. In the cell immediately above the bottom-left cell shown on the screen, enter a formula to sum all the values above it: enter “=sum(“, select all the cells above it, press Enter. It should be showing 0
  4. Copy and paste that cell to all of the other cells in that row on the screen so that the formula runs across the bottom of the page. They should all be showing 0
  5. In the bottom-left cell, enter a formula to sum all of the cells in the row that was just filled: enter “=sum(“, select that row, press Enter. It should be showing 0. This is the TOTAL COUNT CELL
  6. Now, enter 1’s in any of the empty cells to indicate where the x’s will go in your design. The TOTAL COUNT CELL will automatically display how many cells have been filled. You can even cut, copy and paste parts of the design to move them around.
  7. Finally, draw the 1’s onto paper as x’s or whatever other symbols takes your fancy!
14 comments

  1. alexcellent2012

    Tim, that is so lovely of you to send a thank you – with 100 kisses in it no less – impressive! I started reading how you did the thank you with the x’s, but you lost me at Excel spreadsheet ๐Ÿ˜‰ You work in IT right? I have used Excel at work in the past (and I use the term “use” loosely) and let’s just say I find nothing ‘Excel-lent’ about it – well in theory it’s excellent, but.. I just can never make it work. But this isn’t about my software failings, it’s about you and your art blog and I just want to say a big congratulations on 100 followers! Keep on creating and posting! Love your work!

    • Tim Hards Vicente

      Thank you so much Alex! I do work in IT yes, as a software developer for IBM. I find Excel to be quite versatile and use it for many things that aren’t it’s original function – this being another example that I came up with today! It can take a while to get your head around the concepts though, so I understand why you might not be enamoured with it.

      Thanks for the complements, and I’ll certainly keep it up! At the start of the year I had hoped that I’d be able to reach 100 followers by the end of 2014, so I’m way ahead! Best wishes for you and your wonderful blog! Your kiss is the 4th along the top of the T by the way ๐Ÿ˜€

      • alexcellent2012

        Thank you Tim, that’s lovely. Nice to know which one my kiss is, and it’s on the ‘T’ – my turn to be flattered now ๐Ÿ˜‰ That’s so good about the 100 followers way before the end of the year! You deserve it. Thanks for your kind words. And PS I used Excel the other day to compile the school parents contact details – I cut and pasted from someone else’s spreadsheet. I do like the way you can just insert and delete rows. Happy with the basics!

    • Tim Hards Vicente

      It’s not too far-fetched. As a young kid my creativity came out in writing computer programs – making interesting things happen on the screen. I was consumed with this form of creativity to the extent that I totally neglected other creative outlets. Art in school totally didn’t register with me! I am so glad I’m creating art now however, as it allows me so much more freedom to explore my creativity. Your kiss? Right in the middle, at the centre of the N.

    • Tim Hards Vicente

      I’m taking that as a compliment! Took me seconds! Not the drawing though — simple as it was the above is actually my third attempt!!! Would you believe it? The x’s in the first two attempts were more like computer X’s – tall and thin – instead of the little regular kisses they should’ve been. Took me two failures to realise what I was doing wrong! How poor is that!? ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

