Sketches for 2014, number 22 — Pelota

Location: Saint-Jean-de-Luz, The Basque Country
This is a sketch of the traditional Basque ball game, pelota. I enjoy seeing it being played when I visit due to the high speed of the action: it has the second fastest in-game ball speed after golf. In the most common variation of the game the ball is hit against a wall using a curved basket racket, as shown in my drawing.

Played throughout the Basque Country, it is also played in various places around the world (known in the US as Jai Alai). It was played competitively at the 1900 Olympics in Paris, and in some demonstration games after that.

This Lonely Planet video shows the game in action.

pelota

My sketch debt

I owe 4 sketches:
Sketch 23: Monday 10th March
Sketch 24: Thursday 13th March
Sketch 25: Sunday 16th March
Sketch 26: Wednesday 19th March

This post is part of a series of sketches for 2014 that I will be posting every 3rd day. I will draw people and things from around the world that I find beautiful or interesting. The series will end on 29th December 2014 with post number 121.

11 comments

    • Tim Hards Vicente

      Great! I’ve got a natural tendency to add shading in an effort to make the drawing more solid, but I’m glad I held back with this one. It works better as a line drawing, like many of yours, such your recent Thai fishing boat which is lovely 🙂

Leave a Reply

