Fashion illustration: black shapes

It has been two and a half weeks since the last installment of my self-directed fashion illustration course.

Having introduced various techniques to consider and draw stylised fashion figures using lines and shape outlines, Bil Donovan’s Advanced Fashion Drawing: Lifestyle Illustration book moves on to explore using filled in shapes.

For this lesson, I used one of The Fashion Huntress’s photos from her blog. She has given me permission to include it below.

3.6 Black shapes

Using the techniques covered so far, I started with a figure drawn in 5-7 shapes:

140403 black shapes 1

Then I used selection to identify a shape to fill with black (using a piece of charcoal rather than the charcoal pencils I’ve been using so far), and proceeded to fill it starting from the top and working downwards. While doing this, I used mapping to introduce stripes across her top. At the end, I also added a few extra details:

140403 black shapes 2

The photo I drew from was shown on the secret agent stripes post, a few days ago. (c) The Fashion Huntress

(c) The Fashion Huntress

I very much enjoyed adding solid areas to my illustration. In the next lesson I’ll be using different shades of grey.

5 comments

  1. The Fashion Huntress

    Really cool! I like how the shape takes on a different feel in black and white and in shapes/blocks. I also like how the sunlight took shape in the black/white blocking on the skirt- very cool!! Can’t wait to see more!!

  2. Bil Donovan

    This is Wonderful to see your progress Tim…try to expand on just drawing the figure and do some still life drawings ( using the same premises) and landscapes from life…it’s a great way to train your eye and develop your draftmanship. And also realize that the information in the book is not just for drawing fashion…it is a way of seeing and communicating everything. Cheers
    Bil

    • Tim Hards Vicente

      Thank you so much for your feedback Bil. Sorry it has taken me ages to reply. Those are great suggestions. I have found that I’ve been applying some of the techniques I’ve learnt from you in other places. I will do as you suggest and practice applying them to real-life subjects. I will post an update about my fashion illustration in the next few days. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

