Sketches for 2014, number 30 — Orthodox Jew

Location: Jerusalem, Israel
Sketch of an Orthodox Jew that I squeezed in this morning before work.

140513 orthodox jew

My sketch debt

I owe many, many sketches in my 1 sketch every 3 days challenge that I set myself, starting with:
Sketch 31: Thursday 3rd April

This post is part of a series of sketches for 2014 that I will be posting every 3rd day. I will draw people and things from around the world that I find beautiful or interesting. The series will end on 29th December 2014 with post number 121.

2 comments

  1. Geo

    Looking at your sketches for a while now, I like the way you manage to disintegrate your subject without reverting to abstractism. Nice, clean, lines and never more than necessary.

    • Tim Hards Vicente

      Thanks for your comments Geo. I used to jump straight into adding shading in my sketches, but have learnt to hold off doing that – although it was hard to resist the temptation to shade in this guy’s black suit and hat!

      The fashion illustration that I’ve been learning about has helped me focus on using selection to pick out key lines and shapes. In this sketch, I paid attention to the verticals and diagonals. I think it makes the image look more structured than if I had given the same weight to the horizontal lines.

Leave a Reply

