Sketches for 2014, number 33 — Gothic eagle

Location: Tierra de Barros, Spain
This is my digitally-enhanced drawing of a 6th century eagle-shaped fibula, found in a Visigoth grave in Spain – although now held in the US.

140902 goth eagle coloured

I created the above image from this pencil sketch I made today:

140902 goth eagle

To create the digital version, I applied an edge detection filter to the drawing, and then applied fills using muted colours.

My sketch debt
I owe so many sketches for the year so far. Next in line is/was:
Sketch 34: Saturday 12th April

This post is part of a series of sketches for 2014 that I will be posting every 3rd day. I will draw people and things from around the world that I find beautiful or interesting. The series will end on 29th December 2014 with post number 121.

Leave a Reply

