Going dormant

I started to learn to draw and paint 5 years ago. It has been a wonderful means to become acquainted with art from the inside, and it has allowed me to nurture my visual creative side.

On the day that I enter my 5th decade of life, I have decided to end my brief first stint at being an artist.

A number of factors have contributed to my decision to bring this period to an end. Primarily I haven’t been strong enough to juggle my art with the plethora of other activities that my life requires me to do.

I hope that one day, when life is more accommodating, I’ll be able to resurrect my artistic activities. This is why I’m going dormant rather then ending entirely. The plan I developed last year will still be actionable at any time of my life.

Although not practising, I shall continue to take an interest in the art of others, and I shall keep this blog open to occasionally comment on such.

Thank you all for your support, even by simply following my blog or liking one of my posts. Thank you.

6 comments

  1. Pingback: Shouty head | art fn
  2. alexcellent

    I know the juggle is so hard. Our lives have certain priorities at certain times, and then priorities change. So go with the flow of life. But you’re an artist inside even if you’re not practising, and yes, going dormant rather than ending your time as an artist. Your inner artist will re-emerge, I know. I’m glad you’re keeping the blog open to dip into from time to time. Best of luck.

    • Tim Hards Vicente

      Thanks Alex. That’s a great way to say it – that I’m an artist inside. I hope my art is growing inside despite the lack of practice. Seeing my little baby girl is certainly helping – she’s continually looking around at this new world. I hope you’re doing well.

  3. alexcellent

    The artistic eye, and soul, which you have, never dies! Your new perspectives on life that no doubt are emerging via your daughter, will grow your artistic soul. It is so wonderful to see the world through a child’s eyes. She will bring you great joy. Think of the fun you will be able to have with her one day introducing her to art. Best of luck to you and yours. I am doing OK thank you, plotting and planning and changing my life direction a little bit. All will be revealed on the blog eventually. Hope to see you in Blogland from time to time. You were one of my first followers! Take care.

Leave a Reply

